For Immediate Release
2017 Tourism Kamloops Hospitality Awards Winners

February 19, 2017 –  The 1st Annual Tourism Kamloops Hospitality Awards presented by the Kamloops Blazers were a huge success! Over 150 people were in attendance in the Parkside Lounge at Sandman Centre as winners were announced in four categories from a pool of 34 unique nominations!

“We are ecstatic with the support and enthusiasm for this new awards program. The response for nominations and reception attendance speaks to the desire and interest for this type of industry recognition,” said Beverley DeSantis, Tourism Kamloops CEO. “We know that many of our frontline hospitality employees work tirelessly to go above and beyond ensuring our Kamloops visitors have memorable experiences, and to have peer recognition is so important.”

Nominations were gathered over a two-week period in January. An appointed selection committee comprised of local hospitality leaders scored the nominations narrowing to a field of three finalists and finally a winner in each category.

“We are so pleased to be a part of this program,” says Missy Cederholm, Ticketing and Promotions Coordinator for the Kamloops Blazers. “The event is a true reflection of Kamloops’ outstanding hospitality and encourages all service providers and community ambassadors to deliver exceptional experiences every time.”

Winners for the 1st Annual Tourism Kamloops Hospitality Awards are as follows:

  • Top Scorer in Tourism Services – Terri Axani, DiVine Tours
  • Attraction Services Leader – Brett McLeod, BC Wildlife Park
  • Most Valuable Player in Food & Beverage Services – Claudio Klarich, Citrus Restaurant / DoubleTree Hotel by Hilton
  • Accommodation Service Captain – Paige Mittelsteadt, The Plaza Hotel


Media Contacts:
Monica Dickinson, Director – Industry Relations & Communications
Tourism Kamloops
P: 250.372.8000
C: 250.819.0151